Use promo code "WEB2HOME" at checkout for 10% off your entire order!

0item(s) - $0.00

Chaos: Making a New Science (Anniversary)

$26.25

1in stock

The million-copy bestseller by National Book Award nominee and Pulitzer Prize finalist James Gleick that reveals the science behind chaos theory National bestsellerMore than a million copies sold A work of popular science in the tradition of Stephen Hawking and Carl Sagan, this 20th-anniversary edition of James Gleick's groundbreaking bestseller...

Author
Publisher
Date
Qty:

The million-copy bestseller by National Book Award nominee and Pulitzer Prize finalist James Gleick that reveals the science behind chaos theory
National bestsellerMore than a million copies sold

A work of popular science in the tradition of Stephen Hawking and Carl Sagan, this 20th-anniversary edition of James Gleick's groundbreaking bestseller "Chaos "introduces a whole new readership to chaos theory, one of the most significant waves of scientific knowledge in our time. From Edward Lorenz's discovery of the Butterfly Effect, to Mitchell Feigenbaum's calculation of a universal constant, to Benoit Mandelbrot's concept of fractals, which created a new geometry of nature, Gleick's engaging narrative focuses on the key figures whose genius converged to chart an innovative direction for science. In "Chaos," Gleick makes the story of chaos theory not only fascinating but also accessible to beginners, and opens our eyes to a surprising new view of the universe.
Review Quotes:

Review Quotes:
Fascinating . . . almost every paragraph contains a jolt.
"The New York Times"
Taut and exciting . . . a fascinating illustration of how the pattern of science changes.
"The New York Times Book Review"
Highly entertaining . . . a startling look at newly discovered universal laws.
"Chicago Tribune"

Review Quotes:
" Fascinating . . . almost every paragraph contains a jolt." --"The New York Times"
" Taut and exciting . . . a fascinating illustration of how the pattern of science changes." --"The New York Times Book Review"
" Highly entertaining . . . a startling look at newly discovered universal laws." --"Chicago Tribune"
" An awe-inspiring book. Reading it gave me that sensation othat someone had just found the light switch." --Douglas Adams, author of "The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy"
""Chaos" is a feast." --"The Washington Post Book World"

Biographical Note:
James Gleick was born in New York City in 1954. He worked for ten years as an editor and reporter for "The New York Times," founded an early Internet portal, the Pipeline, and has written several books of popular science, including "The Information: A History, a Theory, a Flood," which won the Pen/E. O. Wilson Literary Science Writing Award. He lives in Key West and New York.

Review Citations:
Scitech Book News 06/01/2009 pg. 12 (EAN 9780143113454, Paperback)
Wilson Public Library Catalog 01/01/1998 pg. 5 (EAN 9780140092509, Paperback)
Publishers Weekly 09/30/1988 (EAN 9780140092509, Paperback)
Wilson Public Library Catalog 01/01/1993 pg. 4 (EAN 9780670811786, Hardcover)
Library Journal 08/15/1987 (EAN 9780670811786, Hardcover)
Publishers Weekly 09/25/1987 (EAN 9780670811786, Hardcover)
Contributor Bio: Gleick, James
James Gleick's three books, Chaos, Genuis, and Faster, have been translated into nearly thirty languages. Gleick, a former reporter and editor of the New York Times, lives in New York.

Categories: Bestseller | Chaos Theory | Innovation | Knowledge | New Science | Science | Scientific |

Processing...

was added to cart success.

was added to wishlist success.